Subaru Legacy Trim Levels

When shopping for a new car, drivers may spend so much time just trying to decide on a model that they forget to examine the trim levels. For every vehicle, there are a few variations, each including their own distinct performance, safety, and interior features.

To help our customers in the Middletown, Odessa, and Dover areas determine which 2017 Subaru Legacy trim level best fits their lifestyle, our team at Winner Subaru has compiled this review. Here, we detail the most important specs of each trim.


The 2.5i is the base trim of the 2017 Subaru Legacy, and most of its specs can be found in the higher levels. The Lineartronic® continuously variable transmission and Symmetrical all-wheel drive, for instance, are staples of the Legacy. The 2.5L BOXER® engine is, too. With this engine, the 2.5i and the next three trims generate 175 horsepower and 174 lb-ft of torque.

Standard safety features include Vehicle Dynamics Control and a traction control system. Both technologies work to keep the Legacy stabilized, no matter the terrain. A rearview camera and daytime running lights are typical additions as well.

The cloth interior includes of 6-way manual seat for driver comfort. A 4-speaker system is also added, with STARLINK™ 6.2-inch multimedia. STARLINK® multimedia includes Pandora® radio, Bluetooth® hands-free calling, Aha™ smartphone app integration,1 and more. 

2.5i Premium

While all mechanical features remain the same, the 2.5i Premium level adds new safety features. Drivers can choose to include EyeSight® driver assist technology,2 which is available in all trims going forward. EyeSight® includes smart features like Adaptive Cruise Control and Pre-Collision Braking. Blind Spot Detection and Rear Cross-Traffic Alert3 are also available in this and all remaining levels.

High-Beam Assist is another feature available going forward, as is STARLINK™ safety and security connection services.4 STARLINK™ safety includes SOS emergency and roadside assistance.

 All forthcoming interiors include a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear shifter as well as heated front seats. A 10-way powered driver's seat is added for enhanced comfort. Dual-zone climate adds more variation to temperature control, while the auto-up/down front windows with pinch protection increase convenience.

In this and remaining trims, STARLINK™ is upgraded to the 7-inch multimedia plus. This package includes a high-resolution LCD touchscreen, Travel Link®,5 hands-free SMS texting, and much more.

2.5i Sport

One feature available in the 2.5i Sport and remaining trims is Reverse Automatic Braking. Keyless Action with Push-Button Start also included for quick, easy vehicle access.

The interior is now upgraded with carbon-fiber patterned trim with black accents for a touch of added style. An auto-dimming rearview compass mirror with HomeLink® also is equipped.

When it comes to entertainment, the STARLINK™ 7-inch can now be upgraded to include navigation - a package that will sound great when played through the improved 6-speaker audio system.

2.5i Limited

When driving a Subaru Legacy 2.5i Limited, intuitive safety features like Blind Spot Detection and Rear Cross-Traffic Alert come standard, as do heated rear seats. And in addition to having a 10-way powered driver's seat, you'll have a second one for passengers.

The trim is upgraded to feature matte woodgrain-patterned accents and leather seating. The audio system is replaced with a 440-watt, 8-speaker Harman Kardon system with tremendous acoustic ability.

3.6R Limited

The only difference between the 3.6R Limited and the 2.5i Limited is the engine. At this level, you'll find a 3.6L 6-cylinder BOXER® with dual overhead camshafts. This engine increases power increases dramatically, producing 256 horsepower and 247 lb-ft of torque.

Test the Differences

The five trim levels of the 2017 Subaru Legacy offer many options and versatile features. If you're not sure which will best fit your lifestyle, why not test them all?

Drivers in the Middletown, Odessa, and Dover area looking to try these vehicles can do so by contacting our team at Winner Subaru. We can help you decide which trim is best. Schedule your test drive today!

1 Compatible smartphone and application required. For applications to operate, latest version of each application required. Data provided by smartphone is displayed on head unit screen. Some state laws prohibit the operation of handheld electronic devices while operating a vehicle. Smartphone apps should only be launched when vehicle is safely parked. Your wireless carrier's rates may apply.

2 EyeSight® is a driver assist system which may not operate optimally under all driving conditions. The driver is always responsible for safe and attentive driving. System effectiveness depends on many factors such as vehicle maintenance, and weather and road conditions. See Owner's Manual for complete details on system operation and limitations. Please remember to turn off EyeSight when going through a car wash.

3 Blind Spot Detection, Lane Change Assist and Rear Cross Traffic Alert are systems designed to assist the driver by monitoring the rear and side areas of the vehicle during a lane change or reversing and are not a substitute for safe and attentive driving.

4 Activation with subscription required. Includes one-year trial subscription to Safety Plus connected service. See your retailer for details.

5 Activation and required subscription sold separately. Includes 4-month trial subscription on non-navigation-equipped models or three-year trial subscription on navigation-equipped models. See your retailer for details.

Make an Inquiry

Winner Subaru

1387 N Dupont Hwy
Directions Dover, DE 19901

  • Sales: (888) 870-1079
  • Service: (877) 300-3402
  • Parts: (877) 932-3218


  • Monday 09:00am - 08:00pm
  • Tuesday 09:00am - 08:00pm
  • Wednesday 09:00am - 08:00pm
  • Thursday 09:00am - 08:00pm
  • Friday 09:00am - 08:00pm
  • Saturday 09:00am - 06:00pm
  • Sunday Closed
true true true true true true true true true true true true